学术编辑和校对指导对于非当地的研究人员

学术编辑和校对指导对于非当地的研究人员

学术编辑和校对指导对于非当地的研究人员

 

该指南是为研究生学博士和硕士生谁有兴趣了解如何编辑和校对自己的学术工作。 学术工作可以包括手稿的任何格式,包括博士/硕士论文或论文、期刊论文、会议记录、研究建议,延长的摘要,或者两者之间的任何东西。 希望你会学到一件或两件事之后阅读本指南,这将帮助你提高你的机会你的论文获得接受的出版物。

关于后编辑和校对成千上万的学术手稿的所有类型、长度和学科领域(包括从语言和社会科学、工程和人工智能、医学和生命科学的所有方式向金融和管理),我们的目标是突出显示最常见的语言错误,非以英语为母语的人做编辑时他们的研究手稿。

我们还提供一些实例中常见的错误,以及如何编辑。 语言错误可以分为两大类,即(1) 技术、表面水平的错误,这可以解决 校对;和(2) 成长, 可读性错误。,这可以解决 编辑.

之前我们深入和仔细看看所有的部件所涉及,我们应当首先明确地澄清之间的差别编辑和校对。 基本上,人们倾向于使用这些术语交替,但是有一个显着的差异之间的编辑和校对、特别是学术写作。

 

编辑

编辑 是一个更多 成长 过程,需要放在每一个草稿的手稿。 编辑涉及精炼的手稿中的条款 句子的结构和组成, 一致性和流动的想法, 清楚和简洁学术音. 它还帮助提高 总体的可读性 手稿和使其达到公布的标准。 编辑会的目的是确保它得到提交人的意向目标受众的最好方式可能的。

很多时候,这也考虑到切割无关紧要的话,并消除冗余部分的案文,以确保通信的作者的消息直截了当和简洁的方式。 编辑使的选择是什么,以保持,采取什么行的随后的草案,并强调什么更详细的说明。

在该过程中的编辑, 语义事实方面 该书面发挥作用。 这是一个更广泛的进程(比审校),包括广泛的结构调整、修改、添加、删除、格式和评论的内容。

 

校对

校对另一方面,重点是 技术, 表级别 语法和句法上,而不是语义和可读性。 它更多的是 纠正 于成长. 校对员基本上是'字力学',重点调整 语法/法, 标点符号拼写/打字 错误。

由于它不是的作用的校对解决实际问题或实际方面的研究工作,他们有时候读一个字的时间,或者甚至阅读的文本的倒退,以帮助密切注意每个单独的句子。 校对较轻的过程(比编辑),但也需要非常仔细关注,因为这份手稿被送到出版商后校对。

 

这是第一?

如果你的计划来执行这两项任务,编辑应该来之前校对。 这是因为,在前者中,你会重新组织部分的文本,并增加和删除提高的可读性和一致性的想法。 你也会调整的句子的结构,并提高学术的基调和风格。 这些都是重大修改,因此编辑。 一旦结束、校对于表面上级错误(例如打字错误)可以执行的最后步骤之前的手稿被送进行审查。

 

编辑便于阅读的错误:

1. 一致性、凝聚力和流的想法

协调一致和凝聚力,在学术着作是"桥梁"之间的词,句和段落。 连贯一致和凝聚力的写作的无缝连接的想法/概念在每一句和段落。 换句话说,这是'胶',坚持你的想法在一起。 这将确保讨论的想法是统一和流嗯,和你的读者能够很容易地按照你的思路。 在字水平,始终保持 并行建设,其中涉及呈现的话和想法,在平行的语法形式,特别是在清单。

四个因素来帮助保持一致性:

  1. 安排你的言论、思想和主题的逻辑顺序
  2. 重复关键术语和名词
  3. 使用一致的代名词
  4. 使用的战略转变的信号连接你的想法在一起

如果你的写作缺乏连贯性,和你的转变的主题句和段落,然而,你的读者会难以下你的写作。 例如,如果正在讨论理论的一个,你想要讨论理论B接下来,不论C.这是什么东西你肯定会想要避免在你的写作。

 

2. 句子的结构和组成

让读者发现,他不能忽略任何行你的写作是因为你有省略的每一个字,他可以饶' (拉尔夫*沃尔多*爱默生)

最常见的问题,句子的结构 运行上的句子, 句子的碎片, 过度使用被动语不正确使用的连词. 避免使用非常漫长而复杂的判决。

运行上的句子 是的句子,都不适当地形成的连接两个独立的条款。 刑期较长不一定意味着他们更好。 有时,他们是拉得太远,要他们成为运行在句子。 有时候,一个逗号之间插入两个句子的结果在一个运行在刑(被称为 逗号拼接).

或者、简单和直接因果关系应该是你的主要优先事项。 这可以通过使用简单的句子,或者通过调整的句子结构的一个正确的版本。 这是通过使用一段时间拆分的句子成较小的通过使用期,或通过使用一分号,逗号,或一个从属结合调整的句子结构。 一些例子:

不正确运行: 我在写一份研究报告它已经采取了六个月。

不正确运行,由于逗号接续: 我正在写一份研究报告,它已采取了六个月。

正确的分裂运行中的两个: 我写的一个研究论文。 它已经采取了六个月。

正确地使用分号: 我写研究论文;它已经采取了六个月。

正确使用一个逗号和从属结合: 我写研究论文,但它已经采取了六个月。

 

句子的碎片 是的群体的话,不会形成一个完整的句子或想法。 这是通常情况下失踪的受或谓词。 一个例子中的一个句子分段所述的主题是缺失: 实施研究. 这个可以容易地通过修正加入一个主题,如下所示:调查 实施这项研究。

 

过度使用被动语 发生在你的优先考虑这种风格的活动的声音,始终建议在学术写作。

无源声音: 该调查已经完成由与会者在三个小时.

活动的声音 (建议): 参与者完成了调查,在三个小时.

 

不正确使用的连词 时发生的连词是不恰当地使用之间的条款。 这是一个很常见的错误,往往会重新发生。

不正确的: 尽管模型中实现较高的精确度,但是它被相对较慢于国家的艺术.

正确的: 虽然模型,实现了高精度,它被相对较慢于国家的艺术.

 

3. 清楚和简洁

'有一个良好的风格必须首先清除' (亚里士多德, 艺术的言论,350BC)

清晰度是指简洁的句子短,对这点的和易于阅读。 使用的词语,节约地消除冗余和冗长。 加入过多的无关紧要'填内容的'倾向于淡化您的纸张和转移焦点的专题讨论的另一个完全不同的一个。 一个很好的问题是"这句话或表达作出贡献的主题讨论的?" 如果不是,删除它。 避免不必要的文字,在学术着作,并为清楚和简明的可能。 把自己放在了读者的地方。 这会帮助你保持良好的清晰度,避免额外的不相干的文本。 学术手稿,如博士论文和杂志的文件总是有一个指定的wordcount无论如何。 记住,这是你的想法,应该是复杂的,不是句子讨论他们!

一些提示,以保持简明的编写:

  • 除去多余的词,不作出贡献的意义(提交人试图满足参与者,并要求为他们进行的调查的会议 [17词]可以冷凝 提交人进行调查的与会者 [九个词]).
  • 合并的同义词在一起(作者、研究人员和学者同意,... 可以改变 作者同意,... ).
  • 消除脏话的结构(它是, 有,没有) (总共有八个数据集,用于评价 可以换成 八数据集用于评价).
  • 编辑毫不留情! 完善你的句子,使他们的短、简单和有要点。

 

4. 学术术语和音

学术风格带有一个正式的、客观的调在绝大多数的学科。 这种区别于其他类型的创意写作风格,它可以更为主观性的。

这是比较容易谈论什么,以避免在这种情况。

  • 避免第二个人在学术写作。 通常,始终保持你的写作中的第三人为的论文(例如研究人员进行而不是我行...),并在第三或第一个人在期刊论文。 (杂志会推荐其中的观点,它接受。)
  • 避免给您的个人意见;探讨实际、合乎逻辑的论点,而不是。
  • 避免工作上的你自己。 总是备份发言并援引相关的研究报告在相关的文献。
  • 避免使用非正式、 俚语,隐喻和数字的讲话。 保持使用正式话提供一个知名词典(例如 韦伯斯特).
  • 避免使用收缩(不能,不,等等)。
  • 避免夸张和含糊写。 精总是首选。
  • 避免的修辞问题。
  • 避免过度使用被动语态。
  • 避免作出广泛的概括(很少,永远不会).
  • 避免一种情感或主观的音(伤心,难过).
  • 避免使用过多的副词(清楚,非常),并形容词(太棒了,优秀).
  • 避免使用的休闲的日常语言,并取代他们与关键术语和用词从学科的研究课题。

 

校对面级的错误:

1. 语法/句法错误。

这包括检查手稿的任何 语法错误 和固定他们的相应。 一些常见的语法错误是主谓的协议,名词的代名词协议,动词时态,眯眼剂、过度使用副词,错误的文使用情况,和积极的声音。

 

主谓的协议

主要规则在这里是一个单一主题应始终对应于一个单一动词(列表),同时有多个主题应该总是符合多元化的动词(该名单). 一个棘手的例子是 小组的研究人员被分析的结果. 一个会认为,好的 研究小组 是复数。 然而,以下这条规则,主题是 小组 而不 研究人员因此,我们使用的动词 在这里,而不 .

 

名词的代名词协议

基本规则要记住的是,如果该名词,是单数,代词也应该是单数。 例如:每 研究员 必须指定 他或者她的 研究领域。 由于名词的研究员是单数,相应的代名词(他或者她的)还必须单数。 另一个例子是:研究人员必须指定其相应领域的研究。 由于名词 研究人员 是复数,相应的代名词,也必须复数(他们).

 

动词的时态

最常见的时在学术写作的 简单本, 简单的过去本完美.

简单的本是用来讨论一般的真相,或者讨论影响的结果。 例如: 该公司 采用 雇员满意的协议,每年更新. 另一个例子是: 这个结果 演示了 那...

简单的过去 是用来讨论一个已完成的事件发生在一个特定点的过去。 例如: Smith et al. (2021) 大部分人口同意...

本完美 是用来讨论的一个事件发生在一个未知的一点在过去。 例如: 研究人员 已经调查了 这个现象...

研究建议,讨论一项研究,将在今后进行, 未来的紧张 使用。 例如: 这项研究 探索 现有文献上...

 

眯着眼睛或者晃来晃去的改性剂

一晃来晃去的修改时发生的修改是放在一个句子,但目前还不清楚它是否是修改什么之前还是什么。 例如:

不正确的: 增强的结果,该实验进行一次。

正确的: 实验进行了再次增强的结果。

 

过度使用副词

这不是建议使用太多的副词或改性剂在学术写作,因为他们往往非常密切地涉及这个动词,他们修改。 使用太多不必要的副词描绘了混乱的编写和会惹恼你的读者。

例如, 高音 可以不使用副词在 刺耳的声,,由于 高音 已经被认为是响亮。 可以说,强大的动词是削弱了不必要的,往往'冗余'副词。 使用他们谨慎,只有当他们做出贡献的意义词,他们修改。

 

第滥用

文章都用来表示如果一名词是指一个一般事(一名主席、一个苹果)或特定(主席在我的书桌,苹果公司在我的袋子)项。 无限期文章是 一个一个和明确的文章是 .

  • 经验法则是,使用/一个带有可计数、单一名词(椅子上,一个苹果).
  • 使用 一个 如果这个词开始,e,i,o u和y(只有当的y显像一个"y"). 一些例子是:一个苹果一个研究所、大学。
  • 使用 a/一个 在第一提的数、单一名词,但是使用 随后提到。 例如:我发现 一个 研究所,教计算机科学。 后来我发现 学院还教师编程的科目。
  • 使用指定一个具体的实体,或一个实体,是众所周知的。 例如, 最后考试, 苹果在我的包里, 宇宙。

 

活动的声音 

在学术和科学编写,采用主动语音往往有助于确保明确的读者,并允许更加简单和简洁的句子。 你避免过度使用被动语,并利用其谨慎。

积极的声音: Smith et al. (2021年)进行的一项研究在新的数据集。

无源声音: 研究新的数据集进行了Smith et al. (2021).

在有些情况下,当被动语可以被战略性地使用,例如,当该行动者(主题)是不重要,你想强调的是行动本身。 例如:与会者的研究每接到一个电话一周之前的采访。 使用被动语态是故意在这里,因为提交人并不希望利用第一个人(我呼吁与会者的研究...). 清楚的是,研究人员已经执行的行动,在这里,他想要强调的行动,这是更重要的主题,因为它已经是隐含的知的。 当你无法决定是否使用的有源或无源声音,坚持与前者。

 

2. 拼写/印刷错误

'这尴尬的时刻当你拼写的常用词正确的,但它只是看起来真的错了,你盯着它的永远,质疑其存在的'

  • 这包括检查手稿的任何拼写或印刷错误和调整。 一些提示:
  • 使用一个自动化拼写检查第一,因为它可以协助执行一个初步的搜索拼写错误。
  • 这也涉及调整的手稿给美国或英国的英文格式,而剩余的一致性这一整个。 英式使用是由确定的刊物或出版商。
  • 一致性是很重要的,因为各种同义词有时候交替使用。 它总是建议尽量坚持一个特定的变化的一个词,并坚持到底。
  • 重要的是要铭记,资本的适当的名词和关键术语。 如果你不确定,参考到一词典。

 

3. 标点和逗号的使用错误

这包括检查的 标点符号 (逗号,冒号、撇号,etc.) 每个句子,并确保该标点符号正在正确应用。 这些有助于提高清晰度的你的写作和保持的内容的组织。 标点符号可以完成最后,这包括仔细检查标点符号上一句的句子的基础。

 

总结

最后,值得提到,很多时候,我们倾向于调整我们的研究基于我们自己的观点。 但一个更具战略性的做法是想象你的读者。 换句话说,编辑和校对自己的写作,你的读者(学者在您的领域,journal同侪审查人员或监督人员)在头脑。 这可以让你表达你的想法在一个方式就是更可接受的和更容易跟踪过你的读者。 这将允许一个精心编写的手稿,这是免费的语言错误,并表示你的研究的最清晰和简明的方式成为可能。 这毕竟是什么你的读者都期待着,并且是同样重要的研究本身。 良好的研究,值得表示良好的写作。

 

下午的校提供了学校对和编辑服务博士的博士论文和学位论文、硕士论文和学位论文、研究建议,科学杂志文件,以及其他学术手稿。 我们还提供一个正式的校对证书的承认通过广大的Scopus和科索引的刊物和出版商。 我们的专业和专业校对的是英语为母语的人和技术编辑,并提供校对低价格便宜和负担得起的研究生大学的学生、研究人员和学者。 我们是其中最好的校对公司提供。 如果你是在寻找快速和可靠校对、我们的技术编辑,可以肯定协助。 上传你的手稿现在可免费获得的报价.

0评论

留下一个答复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

*

此站点使用Akismet来减少垃圾评论。了解我们如何处理您的评论数据

Academic Editing and Proofreading Guide for Non-Native Researchers

Academic Editing and Proofreading Guide for Non-Native Researchers

Academic Editing and Proofreading Guide for Non-Native Researchers

 

This guide is for postgraduate PhD and Master’s students who are interested to learn how to edit and proofread their own academic work. Academic work could comprise manuscripts of any format, including PhD/Master’s theses or dissertations, journal papers, conference proceedings, research proposals, extended abstracts, or anything in between. Hopefully you would learn a thing or two after reading this guide, and this would help you to increase your chances of your paper getting accepted for publication.

After about editing and proofreading thousands academic manuscripts of all types, lengths and disciplines (ranging from linguistics and social sciences, engineering and artificial intelligence, medicine and life sciences, all the way to finance and management), we aim to highlight the most common language errors that non-native English speakers make when editing their research manuscripts.

We also provide some examples common mistakes and how to edit them. Language errors can be categorized into two major classes, namely, (1) technical, surface-level errors, which can be resolved by proofreading; and (2) formative, readability errors, which can be resolved by editing.

Before we delve deeper and take a closer look at all of the components involved, we should first explicitly clarify the difference between editing and proofreading. Essentially, people tend to use these terms interchangeably, but there is a significant difference between editing and proofreading, especially in the context of academic writing.

 

Editing

Editing is a more formative process that takes place on every draft of the manuscript. Editing involves refining the manuscript in terms of sentence structure and composition, coherency and flow of ideas, clarity and conciseness, and academic tone. It also assists to improve the overall readability of the manuscript and bring it up to publication standard. An editor would aim to ensure that it gets the author’s meaning across to the intended audience in the best manner possible.

Oftentimes, this also takes into account cutting irrelevant words and eliminating redundant portions of the text to ensure that it communicates the author’s message in a straightforward and concise manner. The editor makes choices about what to keep, what to take out of the subsequent draft, and what to emphasize in more detail.

In the process of editing, semantics and factual aspects of the writing come into play. This is a broader process (compared to proofreading), comprising extensive structural adjustment, rephrasing, additions, deletions, formatting, and commenting on the content.

 

Proofreading

Proofreading, on the other hand, focuses on technical, surface-level of grammar and syntax rather than on semantics and readability. It is more corrective than formative. Proofreaders are essentially ‘word mechanics‘, focusing on adjusting grammatical/syntactic, punctuation and spelling/typographical errors.

Since it is not the role of the proofreader to address factual issues or the actual context of the research work, they sometimes read one word at a time, or even read the text backwards, to help pay closer attention to each individual sentence. Proofreading is a lighter process (compared to editing), but also requires very careful attention, as the manuscript is sent off to the publishers after being proofread.

 

Which comes first?

If you plan to perform both tasks at once, editing should come before proofreading. This is because in the former, you would re-organize portions of text and make additions and deletions to improve readability and coherency of ideas. You would also adjust sentence structure, and improve academic tone and style. These are major modifications, hence editing. Once that is over, proofreading for surface-level errors (e.g. typos) can be performed as the final step, right before the manuscript is sent for review.

 

Editing for readability errors:

1. Coherence, cohesion and flow of ideas

Coherence and cohesion in academic writing is the ‘bridge’ between words, sentences, and paragraphs. Coherent and cohesive writing seamlessly connect ideas/concepts in each sentence and paragraph. In other words, this is the ‘glue’ that sticks your ideas together. This ensures that the ideas discussed are unified and flow well, and your readers are able to easily follow your train of thought. At the word level, always maintain parallel construction, which involves presenting words and ideas in parallel grammatical form, especially in lists.

Four factors to help maintain coherence:

  1. Arranging your statements, ideas and topics in logical order
  2. Repeating key terms and nouns
  3. Using consistent pronouns
  4. Using strategic transition signals to link your ideas together

If your writing lacks coherence, and you shift in topics at the sentence and paragraph level, however, your readers would have a hard time following your writing. For example, if you are discussing Theory A, you would want to discuss Theory B next, not jump to Theory C. This is something you would certainly want to avoid in your writing.

 

2. Sentence structure and composition

‘Let the reader find that he cannot afford to omit any line of your writing because you have omitted every word that he can spare’ (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

The most common issues with sentence structure are run-on sentences, sentence fragments, overuse of the passive voice and incorrect use of conjunctions. Avoid the use of very long and complex sentences.

Run-on sentences are sentences that are improperly formed by connecting two independent clauses. Longer sentences does necessarily mean they are better. Sometimes, they are stretched too far, to the degree they become run-on sentences. Sometimes a comma is inserted in between two sentences to results in a run-on sentence (referred to as a comma splice).

Alternatively, simplicity and directness should be your main priority. This can be done by using simple sentences, or by adjusting the sentence structure to a correct version. This is done by using a period to split the sentence into smaller ones by using a period, or by using a semicolon, comma, or a subordinating conjunction to adjust the sentence structure. Some examples:

Incorrect run-on: I am writing a research paper It has taken six months.

Incorrect run-on due to comma splice: I am writing a research paper, It has taken six months.

Correctly splitting run-on in two: I am writing a research paper. It has taken six months.

Correctly using a semicolon: I am writing a research paper; it has taken six months.

Correctly using a comma and subordinating conjunction: I am writing a research paper, but it has taken six months.

 

Sentence fragments are groups of words that do not form a complete sentence or idea. This is often a case of a missing subject or predicate. An example of a sentence fragment wherein the subject is missing: Was implemented in the study. This can be easily corrected by adding a subject, like so: A survey was implemented in the study.

 

Overuse of the passive voice occurs when you prioritize this style over the active voice, which is always recommended in academic writing.

Passive voice: The survey was completed by the participants in three hours.

Active voice (recommended): The participants completed the survey in three hours.

 

Incorrect use of conjunctions occurs when conjunctions are inappropriately used in between clauses. This is a very common error that tends to re-occur.

Incorrect: Although the model achieved high accuracy, but it was relatively slower than state-of-the-art.

Correct: Although the model achieved high accuracy, it was relatively slower than state-of-the-art.

 

3. Clarity and conciseness

‘A good style must first be clear’ (Aristotle, The Art of Rhetoric, 350 BC)

Clarity refers to concise sentences that are short, to-the-point and easy to read. Use words frugally to eliminate redundancy and wordiness. Adding too much irrelevant ‘filler content’ tends to dilute your paper and shift the focus of the topic discussed to another entirely different one. A good question to ask is “does this sentence or expression contribute to the topic being discussed?” If not, remove it. Avoid unnecessary text in academic writing, and be as clear and concise as possible. Put yourself in the reader’s place. This would help you to maintain a good level of clarity by avoiding extra irrelevant text. Academic manuscripts such as PhD theses and journal papers always have a specified wordcount anyway. Keep in mind that it is your ideas that should be complex, not the sentences discussing them!

Some tips to maintain concise writing are:

  • Remove unnecessary words that do not contribute to the meaning (The author attempted to meet the participants and requested for them to carry out the survey sessions [17 words] can be condensed to The author carried out the survey with the participants [nine words]).
  • Merge synonyms together (Authors, researchers and scholars agree that… can be changed to Authors agree that… ).
  • Eliminate expletive constructions (it is, there are, there was) (There was a total of eight datasets for evaluation can be replaced with Eight datasets were used for evaluation).
  • Edit mercilessly! Refine your sentences so that they are short, simple and are to-the-point.

 

4. Academic terminology and tone

Academic style comes with a formal, objective tone in the majority of disciplines. This distinguishes it from other types of creative writing styles, which can be more subjective in nature.

It is easier to discuss what to avoid in this case.

  • Avoid the second person in academic writing. Commonly, always maintain your writing in the third person for theses (e.g. the researcher conducted… instead of I conducted…), and in the third or first person in journal papers. (The journal would recommended which point of view it accepts.)
  • Avoid giving your personal opinions; discuss factual, logical arguments instead.
  • Avoid working on your own. Always backup your statements by citing related studies in the related literature.
  • Avoid the use of informality, slang words, metaphors and figures of speech. Maintain the use of formal words available in a well-known dictionary (e.g. Merriam Webster).
  • Avoid the use of contractions (can’t, weren’t, etc.).
  • Avoid exaggeration and vague writing. Precision is always preferred.
  • Avoid rhetorical questions.
  • Avoid overuse of the passive voice.
  • Avoid making broad generalizations (rarely, never).
  • Avoid an emotional or subjective tone (sad, upset).
  • Avoid using too many adverbs (clearly, very), and adjectives (fantastic, outstanding).
  • Avoid using casual, everyday language, and replace them with key terminology and diction from the discipline of your research topic.

 

Proofreading for surface-level errors:

1. Grammatical/syntactic errors

This involves checking the manuscript for any grammatical errors and fixing them accordingly. Some common grammatical errors are subject-verb agreement, noun-pronoun agreement, verb tense, squinting modifiers, overuse of adverbs, incorrect article usage, and active voice.

 

Subject-verb agreement

The primary rule here is that a singular subject should always correspond to a singular verb (the list is), while a plural subject should always correspond to a plural verb (the lists are). A tricky example is the group of researchers is analyzing the results. One would argue, well the group of researchers is plural. However, following this rule, the subject is group and not researchers, hence, we use the verb is here and not are.

 

Noun-pronoun agreement

The basic rule to remember is that if the noun is singular, the pronoun should also be singular. For example: Every researcher must specify his or her field of study. Since the the noun researcher is singular, the corresponding pronoun (his or her) must also be singular. Another example is: The researchers must specify their corresponding fields of study. Since the noun researchers is plural, the corresponding pronoun must also be plural (their).

 

Verb tense

The most common tenses in academic writing are the simple present, simple past and present perfect.

The simple present is used to discuss a general truth, or to discuss implications of results. For example: The firm adopts employee satisfaction protocols that are updated yearly. Another example is: This results demonstrates that…

The simple past is used to discuss a completed event that occurred at a specific point in the past. For example: Smith et al. (2021) claimed that the majority of the population was in agreement with…

The present perfect is used to discuss an event that has occurred at an unknown point in the past. For example: Researchers have investigated this phenomenon…

For research proposals that discuss a study that will be conducted in the future, the future tense is used. For example: This research will explore the existing literature on…

 

Squinting or dangling modifiers

A dangling modifier occurs when a modifier is placed within a sentence but it is unclear whether it is modifying what precedes it or what follows it. For example:

Incorrect: To enhance the results, the experiment was conducted again.

Correct: The experiment was conducted again to enhance the results.

 

Overuse of adverbs

It is not recommended to use too many adverbs or modifiers in academic writing, since they often very closely relate to the verb they modify. Using too many unnecessary adverbs portrays cluttered writing and will annoy your readers.

For example, blaring can be used without the adverb in blaring loudly, since blaring is already considered loud. It can be said that strong verbs are weakened by unnecessary, often ‘redundant’ adverbs. Use them sparingly, only if they contribute to the meaning of the verbs they modify.

 

Article misuse

Articles are used to indicate if a noun refers to a general (a chair, an apple) or a specific (the chair at my desk, the apple in my bag) item. The indefinite articles are a and an, and the definite article is the.

  • The rule of thumb is to to use a/an with countable, singular nouns (a chair, an apple).
  • Use an if the word starts with a, e, i, o u and y (only if the y is pronounced like a ‘y’). Some examples are: an apple, an institute, a university.
  • Use a/an on the first mention of the countable, singular noun, but use the with later mentions. For example: I found an institute that teaches Computer Science. I later found out that the institute also teachers Programming subjects as well.
  • Use the to specify a particular entity, or an entity that is well-known. For example, the final exam, the apple in my bag, the universe.

 

Active voice 

In academic and scientific writing, using the active voice often helps to ensure clarity for readers, and allows for more simple and concise sentences. You avoid overuse of the passive voice, and use it sparingly.

Active voice: Smith et al. (2021) conducted a study on the new dataset.

Passive voice: A study on the new dataset was conducted by Smith et al. (2021).

There are cases when the passive voice can be used strategically, e.g., when the action-taker (subject) is not important, and you want to emphasize the action itself. For example: The participants of the study each received a phone call one week prior to the interview. The use of the passive voice is intentional here, since the author does not want to use the first person (I called the participants of the study…). It is clear that the researcher has performed the action here, and that he wants to emphasize the action, which is more important then the subject, since it is already implicitly known. When you are unable to decide whether to use the active or passive voice, stick with the the former.

 

2. Spelling/typographical errors

‘That awkward moment when you spell a common word correctly, but it just looks so wrong that you stare at it forever, questioning its existence’

  • This involves checking the manuscript for any spelling or typographical mistakes and adjusting them. Some tips are:
  • Use an automated spell checker first, since it can assist to perform an initial search for spelling mistakes.
  • This also involves adjusting the manuscript to US or UK English format, and remaining consistent of this throughout. The English style to use is determined by the journal or publisher.
  • Consistency is important, as various synonyms are sometimes used interchangeably. It is always recommended to try to stick to one particular variation of a word and stick to that.
  • It is important to keep in mind the capitalization of proper nouns and key terminology. If you are unsure, refer to a dictionary.

 

3. Punctuation and comma usage errors

This involves checking the punctuation (commas, colons, apostrophes, etc.) of each sentence, and making sure the punctuation symbols are being applied properly. These help to enhance the clarity of your writing and keep the content organized. Punctuation can be done last, and this involves carefully inspecting punctuation on a sentence-by-sentence basis.

 

Wrap-up

Finally, it is worthy to mention that oftentimes, we tend to adjust our research based on our own perspective. But a more strategic approach to take is to imagine you are the reader. In other words, edit and proofread your own writing, with your readers (scholars in your field, journal peer-reviewers, or supervisors) in mind. This allows you to express your thoughts in a manner that is more acceptable and easier to follow by your readers. This would allow for a well-written manuscript that is free of language errors and expresses your research in the most clear and concise manner possible. This is, after all, what your readers are looking forward to, and is as important as the research itself. Good research deserves to be expressed in good writing.

 

PM Proofreading provides academic proofreading and editing services for doctoral PhD theses and dissertations, Master’s theses and dissertations, research proposals, scientific journal papers, as well as other academic manuscripts. We also provide an official proofreading certificate that is recognized by the majority of Scopus and WoS indexed journals and publishers. Our professional and expert proofreaders are native English speakers and skilled editors, and offer low proofreading rates that are cheap and affordable for postgraduate university students, researchers and academics. We are amongst the best proofreading companies available. If you are looking for fast and reliable proofreading, our skilled editors can surely assist with that. Upload your manuscript now and get a free quotation.

0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.